There’s nothing like a quick project to brighten up your living space. I recently rearranged my houseplants and needed to add some height to my arrangement. My mom had gifted me a ceramic jug that would make a great vase, provided the contents were dry. Now I just needed to fill it!

20190316_173103-01

Thankfully, the yard was ready to be cleaned of the fallen sticks and branches that accumulated over the winter. I ventured outside and collected dried sticks from various different trees, trimmed them to size, and bound them together to form the beginning of my bouquet. A simple short piece of yarn, tied below the lip of the container, helped to keep the sticks in my preferred arrangement.

I made a few small pom poms out of some basic worsted weight cotton yarn. I love the rustic feel of cotton poms, especially when contrasted with bright colors, and they seemed like the perfect fit for this project. (Need help making poms? Check out my tutorial for pom pom makers!)

I collected my materials, and got to work, positioning my sticks and pom poms until I was happy with the arrangement:

 

20190316_173507-01Once I was happy with the arrangement, I began to glue my poms to the ends of the sticks. I used a low temp glue gun for the fast drying time and secure hold. Any all-purpose glue should work, but keep in mind, you will have longer drying times and more room for error as a result. Hold your pom so that you can reach close to the center with your glue gun or bottle. Add glue directly to the pom, before attaching to the stick, like a flower on a stem.

Once the poms were all attached, I arranged the bouquet in the vase, trimming the sticks again as needed. My arrangement added some much needed height to my plant display, and a small pop of color against the tan wall. I’m so happy with my pom pom bouquet, and love how it helps draw the eye to the living plants that I’ve collected and nurtured. 20190316_173845-0120190316_174311-01